Mission Statement

Ladew Topiary Gardens is a nonprofit, 501 (c)(3) organization whose mission is “to maintain and promote the gardens, house and facilities in keeping with the creative spirit of Harvey S. Ladew for the public benefit and for educational, scientific and cultural pursuits.” Both House and Gardens are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.


A copy of our current financial statement is available upon request by contacting us at 3535 Jarrettsville Pike, Monkton, MD 21111 or by phone (410) 557-9570. Documents and information submitted to the State of Maryland under the Maryland Charitable Solicitations Act are available from the Office of the Secretary of State for the cost of copying and postage.


Board of Trustees



Anne Kinsley, President

Leslie Erickson, Vice-President

Vanessa Finney, Treasurer

Sheila Riggs, Secretary


 Joe Boddiford

John Canoles

Ted Carter

William Cook

Katherine Crosby

Kris Crosswhite

Liz Dausch

Muffin Dell

Daniel Driver

Ann Forbes

Susan Ford

Cindy Galli

Benjamin Griswold, IV

Wendy Griswold

Barbara M. Hathaway

Lynn Janney

Mabel Johnson

Sarah Johnson

Susan Klein

Beth McGuire

Sarah Schweizer

Karen Smith

Michael Smith

Jamie Snead

Barbara Voss

Orsia Young

Evelyn Zink


Emily Wehr Emerick, Executive Director


J. Dorsey Brown, III

Jenny Budge

Molly Edgar

Dudley Mason

Turney McKnight

John McShane

Eleanor Reade



Leith Symington Griswold (deceased)

Betty Constable (deceased)

Martha Robbins (deceased)

Jean McCausland (deceased)

Reveley Moore (deceased)

Wendy Griswold

Dudley Mason

Sarah Schweizer